In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience to support your arguments

In recent years, globalisation has created new opportunities for students worldwide. This trend has especially encouraged young learners from developing countries to fly to developed nations for the sake of further education. But as the saying goes, every coin has two sides. This development too, as a result, has a few disadvantages of its own. Let us look at both these perspectives individually. Firstly, getting a chance to study abroad has expanded the horizons for students throughout the globe. For instance, a friend of mine was very keen on getting to learn more about experimental neuroscience. Unfortunately, the labs back at home didn’t cater to his requirements. Therefore, he applied overseas to a British university which gave a nod to his application for a degree in the same subject. This proves that such opportunities have opened up several doors for children in underprivileged countries to get access to world-class knowledge. Secondly, creativity and innovation are only born when unfamiliar people from different backgrounds get a chance to interact and exchange ideas with each other. On the contrary, such migration of young minds to foreign lands has a few pitfalls too. Primarily, the most important concern is that of brain drain. The nation which sends its students to other developed ones abroad for pursuing better education will lose intelligent minds. Because they would tend to settle down in those places in view of brighter prospects. For example, my batchmate who went to the US in search of a university that offered him the best teaching in Cardiology, never returned back to his motherland as he ended up getting a better job there. Thus, my people missed out on a great doctor. To sum up, I think that youth should be encouraged to avail the learning platforms provided by foreign universities. This will maintain equality in education and help to nurture creativity. As a result, such novel information can be used by such citizens to make improvements back home.