It is argued that we are live in a throw-away society: people throw away what they use in daily life, rather than recycling or reusing them. Why has this happened how to address this issue.

It is true that modern people have been accustomed to using products for once, rather than utilising items for a long time. While a number of factors may lead to this throw-away culture, governments can take steps to reverse this trend. There are two main reasons why consumers today do not keep many goods for a long period of time. Firstly, consumers can purchase the newest products at low prices since technological innovations and mass production have improved the productivity of the workforce and reduced the cost of production. Those latest electronic equipment such as computers and mobile phones are not as expensive as before, this is why consumers prefer to buy the equipment with up-to-date features and throw away the broken or old items, rather than fix them. Secondly, many people lack environmental awareness, which means they have not yet realised that their ways of life will lead to energy consumption and cause waste as well as pollution. For instance, they do not know household appliances can end up in landfill sites and some non-biodegradable materials will have a destructive effect on the environment. As the overconsumption of customer goods is pervasive, it is important to take measures to mitigate this problem. To begin with, governments can enforce some laws that have set the maximum limit of waste disposal for individuals. For example, the tax penalty can be imposed on extra waste disposal, thereby encouraging everybody to reuse the eco-friendly alternatives. Moreover, rising environmental awareness is also necessary, because this can change the ways people use and dispose of different products. In other words, environmental groups can disseminate the knowledge of how to recycle disposable items and household appliances. To sum up, people’s attitudes toward consumption and their environmental awareness are the main reasons behind the extensive consumption of disposable goods. Government can address those problems through several measures.