In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

To achieve something, society believes that a young one must develop a tendency to keep mastering the practice until they get to succeed. This essay shall delineate both the perspectives, positive aspects as well as negative impacts. On the one hand, there are a few major positive factors such as motivation, positive mindset and confidence. Students are often encouraged by their parents to engage themselves in an event and keep pushing themselves to their desired goal, which results in the improvement of an individual in the particular area whether it is related to desired score or job. Furthermore, it could build confidence amongst adolescents, as and when an adult constant monitoring their young one and help them to endeavour even in a sports field, if they would like to acquire it. To illustrate, research conducted at various schools/ colleges has resulted that, children who exert their limits tend to achieve their desired goal. On the other hand, there is a misconception that trying hard would ascertain one’s success. This could lead to negative impacts on youngsters such as frustration or depression. Students who constantly fail their exams even though studying extremely passionate, lead towards stress. Moreover, in some cases disappointment leads them to take their lives to end their oscillating sufferings. In addition, it could also make the youth certainly angry for their own failures, and their arrogant behaviour disturbs the surroundings nearby. To conclude, such practices have both benefits such as motivation, confidence building and positive mindsets along with drawbacks associated with anxiety and frustration, so it depends on an individual how they deal with certain teachings.