Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many populace like to watch foreign films over locally produced cinemas. There can be various reasons for this like an interesting storyline, realistic characters. However, these traits do lack in local cinemas. I strongly believe that in order to rectify these the government can indeed encourage the budding producers by giving them some financial aid. This essay will highlight the reasons behind people preferring foreign films over local movies and also the governments support in changing the preferences of people. The reasons behind populace preferring to watch foreign movies are that firstly, the content and the storyline of the movies are found to be fascinating and attractive. For instance, "The Slumdog Millionaire" managed to attract a plethora of people across the world and was able to make good returns. Though the actors were Indian, the story was unique. Secondly, people expect the cast and characters to be realistic and relevant to the local culture. For example, some movies produced in Tollywood portray the actor to run faster than a train. In the other words, such a supernatural or unrealistic portrayal disappoints the audience, resulting in keeping them from watching the local films In order to attract the audience to watch more local movies, the government, in my opinion, can extend some financial help to the budding producers. For example, providing scholarships can support many poor producers who have creative stories but lack the money to produce a film. Such producers when provided with some financial support produce good films hence attracting the audience to watch local films. These kinds of support from the government will indeed help in producing films with a creative storyline and modern characters eventually attracting more and more people to watch them. To conclude, the lack of a unique storyline and unrealistic characters tend to disappoint the people, hence forcing them to choose foreign movies over the local cinemas. In my opinion, one of the tactics to attract people to watch local cinemas is that the government can provide budding producers with financial support so that they stay motivated to produce good movies.