In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

These days in many cities the use of video cameras in public places has increased with a notion to reduce the crime rates. On the other hand, some people believe that this curbs an individual's freedom. However, in my opinion, the advantages and disadvantages of this remain balanced. This essay will highlight how the installation of video cameras has benefitted as well as has remained disadvantageous to the public. The main advantage of video cameras is the ease of identification of criminals. Although the crime is committed, it enables the officials to at least identify the person and get clues about the criminal. For instance,in cases like chain snatching, it is easier to identify the person and obtain the chain back. In other words, it also acts as evidence for many criminal suits. Hence, it has made investigation easier for police officials. On the other hand, some people contend that the installation of video cameras in public places have curbed their freedom. It indeed feels obnoxious to be watched when doing our daily routines. For example, the public might feel uncomfortable being watched when he or she accidentally slips and falls on the road. Even if the video cameras have helped in improving public safety, they fail to provide a sense of comfort in terms of freedom. To conclude, installing video cameras in public places has helped in increasing public safety on the contrary it also has curbed the freedom of the public to move freely hence becoming a hindrance. Consequently, in my opinion, the installation of video cameras in common areas has equal advantages and disadvantages.