In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In the technology savvy era, it is irrefutable fact that humankind has increased tremendously and the current era is enriched with new innovations. Nowadays, as the rate of crime inclining at an astronomical rate authorities are lying emphases on installing video cameras in public places to reduce the percentage of activity that is against the law. But multifarious people may consider it an invasion of public privacy. This essay shall intend the advantages and disadvantages in the following paragraphs. To begin with, CCTV cameras are very essential in public places. Because with the aid of footage as well as videos, the police can easily find culprits and thus save the society from militant activities. For instance, in developed countries, there are a plethora of big supermarkets where the entrepreneurs hire a person who constantly watches the video surveillance and it becomes easier for them to catch and prosecute the offenders. Furthermore, sometimes the police officers arrest the wrong criminal for crimes such as pick-pocketing, chain snatching and penalize them. But with a strong evidence officers can find the right burglar and punish them. However, there are two main reasons why society disapproves of the use of small cameras on public roads. Firstly, CCTV cameras on traffic lights or on roads are alternative to police. Due to the reason of this, the rate of not only accidents but also crime become raising as lawbreaker has no fear and they can plan their burglary very smartly. For example, one of my friend's purses gets snatched by a person in the market and in that situation neither the officers nor cameras help her. Moreover, we are constantly monitored by the government and many people find this intrusive and feel hesitant to do something on public roads. In conclusion, it can be seen that security cameras in public places make cities safer for the inhabitants and visitors. Although their positive effects outweigh the negative we cannot be neglected and the government should also take some steps to secure the private life of the community.