Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that to ameliorate the current environmental condition, merely ruling authorities and big organizations can play a pivotal role and the general public is unable to contribute anything to it. However, in my perspective, collective efforts are the demand of the time as individuals, too, have the onus to minimize their practices which are denounced by the environmentalists. First of all, since human activities such as deforestation, industrialization and urbanization are responsible for the contamination of natural surroundings, limiting these practices would be a pragmatic approach towards a clean environment. If individuals consider discontinuation of these activities, tainting can be controlled to a great extent. The demonstration of this was observed during the lockdown period of the COVID 19 pandemic when the lack of these acts contributed to a better environment. Additionally, the rule of 3Rs: reduce, reuse and recycle, can be added to a daily routine so that the responsibility of protecting nature is fulfilled. Furthermore, along with a minor change in the present-day lifestyle of people, legislation and companies, too, have a prominent role to play in saving the surroundings from pollutants. The former, by imposing stringent environmental protection laws, can make masses obliged to follow an environment-friendly lifestyle in which they avoid single-use plastic and do not exploit natural energy resources. The latter can also assist in preserving nature by not only adequately disposing of venomous chemicals but also by using clean energy to run their factories, for instance, solar, wind and water so that no toxic waste is generated. These initiatives could be extremely beneficial to improve the overall quality of our surroundings. To conclude, it can be asserted that alone government and entrepreneurs are not able to protect the environment from further degradation, and therefore individuals also have to add eco-friendly habits to preserve it.