Some scientists think that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and messages should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is a bad idea and would be dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to the advances in astronomy, people nowadays have the ability to explore outer space, where was unreachable in the past. In light of this, some scientists are passionate and cannot wait to search the universe. However, other scientists argue that such activity is worrisome and that this may lead to appalling ramifications. In my opinion, people should be encouraged to explore the universe if any opportunities come and think that humans should have the spirit of adventures when involved in such a new area. First of all, optimistic scientists maintain that humankind has to explore outer space for any intelligent life. They believe that such activities can bring about positive effects on humans. For example, in the 18th century Napoleon, an explorer, took his sailers aboard, starting their cruise to an unexplored world. As a result, they found a new world, which turns out to be North America. If at that time Napoleon had been less courageous and been conservative, the American civilisation, or the whole world, would have been regressed several decades. On the contrary, pessimistic scientists warn that sending messages to outer space has latent threats. This is because such behaviour may expose the location of the earth to high-intelligence creatures, possibly resulting in the worst-case scenario, the massacre of humans. In order to prevent this devastating consequence from happening, astronomers must stop broadcasting or transmitting any signals to the universe. In conclusion, while some people think that trying to communicate with aliens will put humans on the verge of extinction, others believe that people cannot lose this precious opportunity to make progress in human history. From my point of view, in regard to exploring outer space, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.