The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. government funding should reflect this. to what extent do you agree?

To reduce the prevalence of an illness, preventing it rather than trying to cure is the better option. Although the government should ensure that treatment and medicine are readily available for the masses, more funds need to be budgeted towards precautionary measures. Firstly, if diseases are prevented, the burden on the healthcare system decreases. The main focus of the administration in the medical system ought to be on cutting down the number of sick cases reported by healthcare facilities and reducing the overall cost needed for providing cures to the patients. For instance, in Canada, over 70% of the population have been fully vaccinated against the Coronavirus since June. Statistics from October show that the number of hospitalized patients suffering from the disease dropped by over 40%. As a result, the overall budget assigned to treat patients plummeted. Secondly, if more money is spent to raise health awareness among the masses, a plethora of health problems could be avoided. The majority of individuals are unaware of the symptoms and causes of many illnesses however, the government can ensure to hold additional campaigns and wellness shows to educate such individuals. For example, the state Hospital of Ibadan saw a major drop in influenza cases in 2005 after purchasing and encouraging their staff to wear masks to prevent cross-contamination. Lastly, the governmental body needs to allocate adequate funds towards food safety and put strict regulations on the availability of certain commodities. If people eat well, getting sick can be avoided. For instance, Nigeria has placed a ban on most seafood products imported from China and has seen a general reduction in food poisoning problems. In conclusion, I strongly believe that more money should be provided to eradicate diseases rather than focusing on remedies or medication. Besides, this will promote high-quality health across the country and will be a better normal for the future.