It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

The increasing number of criminals among teenagers is becoming a remarkable problem and some people claim that media are mainly responsible for that. However, sometimes the reasons behind these kinds of activities are many and more complicated. Isn't it too easy to blame it on what we see on tv? Clearly, we all know that youngsters should spend their time at school, having fun with friends or playing sport. However, some of them may get lost along the way either because their parents were too busy at work to notice their needs or because they just grew up in tough suburbs. Or even worse, young people often tend to repeat the kind of behaviours they see at home. For example, in the city of Naples, most of the antisocial activities are reported from areas with higher poverty and unemployment rate. On the other hand, it is certainly true that people are often attracted by violent movies maybe because sometimes their lives become repetitive and boring. In spite of that, it is always important to distinguish between fiction and reality. For instance, a tv show called Squid Game recently became very popular even though being very cruel. Nevertheless, it wasn't reported an increased incidence of crimes after its release. Indeed, if media would influence people so much it would mean living in constant war, a social catastrophe. To sum up, as far as I'm concerned I believe that the biggest responsibilities in someone's education come from family and social environment. Conversely, although some may think that media have a role in influencing teenagers, I think that this is only marginal and that the real causes should be found somewhere else.