Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that air pollution is a major environmental concern nowadays. Owing to the possible harmful effect on the atmosphere. While some people believe that wolrd car-free days are an efficient way in minimizing greenhouse gas emission, others argue that there are different possible ways to consider. I believe that car-pooling and public transportation are far better choices. First and foremost, international car-free days are days which encourage motorists to give up their cars for certain weekdays during the year. Instead, they may use bikes or other transportation facilities. In short, it may seem a good way in reducing carbon dioxide emissions, However, it is not a long term plan as it doesn't provide continuity. Moreover, those days were subjected to the personal feeling of responsibility. In other words, it is not necessary for all citizens to follow. On the other hand, if we consider other plans like using public transportations, we will experience better outcome. In order to reduce the number of cars on the road, governments must adopt improving transportation facilities like the underground subways and buses that are powered by electricity. Consequently, if the previous plans are considered, traffic congestion will decline. What's more, now people are showing more acceptance toward the car-sharing concept. To illustrate, a new mobile phone application emerged from the previous ideas, which anyone can enter their details including their personal identification, where they are going to start the ride and where it will end. Then, anyone who matched the same route can share the car together. To sum up, although dedicating some days to stop car use may sound a good idea,I think more organized and governmentally adopted plans are showing promising results in reducing atmospheric pollutants.