Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world of sporting event can be classified into two categories: team and individual event. Those who play under team sports believe that it is far more advantageous as opposed to taking part in individual sport. This essay will discuss both views and expresses my opinion between these two opposing notions. Among the popular team sports the world has ever popularised are football, basketball and hockey. Thousands of aspiring athletes dream to be part of their country's national team. These rising sports ' stars have trained themselves from an early age for one single purpose: to be scouted and drafted into their dream team. There are two clear factors behind their motivation: passion and reward. There is nothing more fulfilling than being paid for doing what you love. For example, football players in England Clubs are paid on average of £100,000-£400,000 weekly. Although it is their love for football that made them persevere the gruelsome training, it cannot be denied that these monetary compensation has given them more passion and fire to be the best athlete they can be. However, people who favour team sports believe these benefits are not necesarily true for individual sporting events. Individual sporting events like swimming, boxing, and cycling have just gained massive audience for last few decades. Just recently, Team GB's Adam Peaty brought home multiple gold medals from the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo. Adam has given great honour for himself and for the country. This is one of the key benefits of an individual event, you share the spotlight with no one. In essence, you get the recognition you deserve unlike being part of a team sports. While winning an individual event allows someone to claim all the accolades and merits, winning as a team doesn't give the same satisfaction and joy. Oftentimes, the team captain gets all the praises and attention which then equates to higher offer and compensation from endorsements and other incentives. The rest of his teamates can only celebrate under his shadow, getting less endorsement offers and media exposure. Clearly, there are pros and cons in participating between a group and individual events. The differences evolve around recognition and compensation. In my opinion, there is no such thing as more beneficial or less beneficial. The most important element to be taken into consideration is the energy and drive one brings while playing the sport. A football player who barely gets or receive the ball but has been doing great in assisting the midfielder is equally joyous as someone who finishes gold in an 100-metre freestyle swimming competition. Therefore, the sport an athelete heart beats for, may it be football or swimming, is the most beneficial sport in that respect.