International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

It is ubiquitous that with the spread of international tourism, many towns and cities have taken the benefits of it. People hold different views about the effects of this tourism, whether it is more advantageous or not in regard to local communities. In my opinion, I believe that it has more negative impacts compared to positive ones. To begin with, it is undeniable that international tourism stimulates and drives the rise of other industries in recent years. Apparently, this would improve the living standards of local people. Owing to the fact that the growing tertiary industries such as hotel industry, bring more job opportunities to local people, thus these people obtain more money in hand, their life quality would be better. Meanwhile, the tax revenue from countless tourists can be reinvested into education, infrastructure and public services, further improving living conditions in these places. Consequently, international tourism can largely boom the local economy and quality of life simultaneously. However, although it brings advantages on economic aspect, its drawbacks cannot be ignored as it worsens the life of habitant seriously. It is a fact that the influx of tourists coming from abroad can make towns noisy and overcrowded, which is harmful for local residents. Meanwhile, it leads to extra cost and pressure to permanent residents of an area. For instance, more tourists travel in this place, resulting in an increase in waste and carbon footprints, which put strain on local waste management and air purification services. Therefore, these operation costs are borne by residents in this region. Subsequently, tourism can be detrimental to the environment and increases the living cost for people. In conclusion, despite international tourism can bring more economic benefits to this region, the disadvantages would not be neglected in terms of environment and inhabitant.