In the past lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. Do the advantages of this new approach outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of technology has changed our daily lives and its usage is constantly on the rise. Even the schooling system has deeply changed with the introduction of technological tools and online classes. However, the shortcomings may be more than the positive sides of that. Analyzing the impact of human contact between teachers and students, as well as the importance of involving and stimulating the class' interest will prove this. Clearly, it is a common opinion that teaching is a human activity and that artificial intelligence will never be able to replace the empathy between people. For instance, teenagers may often need to directly intervene and discuss potential doubts with their teachers. Sadly, despite the notable advancements of robots in mimicking human activities, they will always lack emotional involvement. Therefore the importance of face-to-face classes will probably prevail over online courses. Moreover, the role of professors is not only to explain the lesson but also to stimulate critical thoughts in the students and to increase their interest and curiosity towards the subject. For example, it is well known that youngsters like to be motivated before lessons are taught effectively. This is another peculiar characteristic that human teachers have and that cannot be replaced by technology. Thus, it seems clear that there are needs that go beyond technology capacities. To sum up, robotic tools may be very useful in the schooling system but they would lack the emotional involvement and motivation of students. Hence, it is clear that the disadvantages of technology-run classes outweigh the advantages and that face-to-face classes should remain the preferred way. After a thorough analysis, it is predicted that teachers will maintain their fundamental role in education and although the schooling system is evolving their contribution will be hardly replaced.