In many countries, students take a year off finishing school should students take a gap year before attending university? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In many nations of the world, there are many choices confronting teenagers after they complete high school. Chief among them is whether to take a year off to pick up a paying job, go see the other places or proceed with their studies. Just as there are lots of advantages to working early, there are also some demerits of such activities as well. On the one hand, abound are many of the merits that come starting out sooner. For starters, getting a paid job at an early life affords one the opportunity of learning the basics learnings such as financial intelligence and team building. Since these skills are not thought in schools, outside the classroom will avail you of this knowledge at a very young age. If anyone could acquire this understanding early, it makes mastery easier. For example, most of the most prudent managers didn't go beyond secondary education. They learnt and honed their skills in their younger life by listening to the masters. To add to that, seeing other places while you were younger gives one a good grasp of the culture and tradition of other people. This will help you to network effectively when it is needed later in your chosen career. Conversely, opting to take a break in your learning could spell doom for anyone. To begin with, you can become too comfortable with making money and as such forget to go back to complete your formal academics. For instance, young boys who started earning money at an early age often find it difficult to go back to classrooms because they have assumed the position of the breadwinners in their families, hence there is no need for them to further the schooling anymore. Also, since most of these kids are not completely mature when they left high school, it is possible for them to be exploited and this will derail their education. A case in hand is that of a factory manager that impregnated a teen who came to his facility to work. To sum it up, because of the reasons above, although it is advantageous to pick up basic skills at an early age. However, it comes with its drawbacks as well.