As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

With the development of computer science, people nowadays can easily translate their mother tongues into every foreign language. In light of this, some argue that people do not need to spend time learning a second language. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this idea, at least for now, because the current technology is not enough to translate precisely languages from one to another. Indubitably, online translation tools are, at a certain level, helpful and easy to access. These tools basically have the ability to translate a surfeit of simple sentences within a few seconds with minimum mistakes. On this account, more and more people are relying on this function to deal with things that are language relevant. For example, it has been widely acknowledged that most of the postgraduates in Taiwan have a deep dependence on Google translation for writing their English version of dissertations. They claim that such a tool can help them save a tremendous amount of time, which is considered a treasure to them. However, people still need to take time to learn a foreign language. This is because language is too intricate that no existing software programme can precisely and accurately interpret a language. For instance, during a conversation, people sometimes have a tendency of using sentences that have implications that are totally different from the literal meanings. Therefore, these translation tools absolutely cannot replace an interpreter or a translator. In conclusion, despite computers can quickly translate languages at a low cost, it is necessary to acquire a foreign language due to the intricacy of linguistics. From my point of view, before the advent of a comprehensive and powerful translation tool, it is better for people to possess the bilingual ability.