The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Problems related to criminals are frequently discussed nowadays. One perspective regarding such matter is that due to technological and scientific advancements, the rate of crimes has reduced significantly. Personally, I partially agree with this view point. This essay aims to underline the reasoning behind my opinion. On one side of the argument, the improvements made in the technology sectors also correlate with new gadgets for surveillance and reporting purposes. Systems such as CCTV or the Internet cookie are widely used to surveil people, which can cause potential criminals to be afraid. Therefore, the crime rate will be reduced drastically. In the past, crimes could only be caught red-handed or through convincing evidence, but in today world, crimes can be caught just with simply a video record by a surveillance camera. For example, stores are always equip with guards and a camera to prevent burglary and shoplifting. Another application of new technology is for people's lives. When living standards are high, people will not have a motive to commit crimes. Poverty can cause stealing, unhealthy relationships can lead to violence, and fear can cause extreme behaviors harmful to both the surrounding and the person who do it. Consequently, by eradicating these factors through the utilization of advancements in technology can reduce the likelihood a person can cause a crime, which will then decrease the crime rate. On the other hand, the introduction of new technologies to the public can create a perfect place for newer types of crimes to take place. In the past, crimes only manifest into the physical world; however, the Internet has allowed criminals to commit crimes in a digital world. There have been new crimes created just on this platform, noticeably hacking. Apart from the Internet, new phones and gadgets can also be used for many illegal purposes. One example of such is the crime of forgery. New devices such as PS5 or iPhone 13 attract a lot of attention from the public and have high demand; therefore, they are frequently being replaced with fake, inferior products by sellers to have a larger profit margin. Personally, I believe that while new technology such as cheap surveillance system can protect citizens from crimes, it should not be forgotten that there are also inventions that lead to more crimes being committed, namely the Internet. In conclusion, while some people argue that technological breakthroughs reduce the crime rate, I believe that only a small proportion of them are helpful in maintaining security whereas a large majority of these inventions are ineffective or even detrimental to the fight against rising crime rates.