With pressure on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic subjects. This argument will be discussed in the essay. There is an important reason why non-academic subjects should be discontinued. First of all, non-academic subjects could be distracting some pupils from what they really need to focus on. For instance, homework given by non-academic subjects may be too much, so students do not have time to do their academic homework, or they might have to choose whether to do non-academic homework or academic assignment. Hence, having non-academic subjects could unnecessarily consume plenty of time from children. Although there is a significant reason to remove non-academic subjects from the syllabus, more benefits are given by the existence of non-academic subjects. Firstly, we have to understand that not every student will certainly want to do a job based on an academic subject. To make it more understandable, some students might want to be artists, musicians or sportsmen. As a result, non-academic subjects could be supporting them to make their dream come true. Moreover, according to many pieces of research, studying too much can make students feel stressed and non-academic subjects like music and sports could relief them from being stressed. To illustrate, listening to music can make the brain relax and playing sports will make the heart beat faster and a lot of blood will go through the brain and make us feel more relaxing. To conclude, removing non-academic subjects to make students concentrate more on academic subjects is not really a good idea in my opinion, due to the reason that it can give a negative effect on some students that really need these subjects.