Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

More and more people are increasingly using cars to travel, even though cycling is friendly to the environment and health. Safety is the most important reason for less cycling. This essay will elucidate the reason for this trend with the solution to tackle this issue and the following examples will be provided to support my point of view. To begin with, the most important reason is that there is less security to cycling on the track, having said this because more and more people are likely to break the law as a result street safety is reduced for cyclists. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it has been revealed that 80% of people who are living in urban areas choose to use the car or other public transport such as buses, train because they are concerned about road safety which makes them feel less secure when they are cycling in the city. To solve this problem, the government should tackle this problem as soon as possible by improving the traffic law and reconstructing the transportation in the country. For instance, the main construction of the road in Thailand has no cycling paths, so it can be the cause of accidents easier. Therefore, firstly, the government should build the cycling lens. Secondly, they should launch a campaign which persuades the community to use cycling to communicate furthermore they should examine the benefits of using cycling instead of cars such as environmental, health and less costly. This is a quite big change which needs to take time in order to overcome this issue and also this needs the cooperation of all the population and all organisations to make this happen. In conclusion, making cycling more popular should have good management in order to gain more confidence of people to use cycling by the government, in terms of road infrastructure, law and other facilities such as parking areas for a bicycle.