In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem.

Nowadays, traffic conditions in many big cities have become worse and worse, and this problem has to be solved. In my opinion, the main cause of this problem stems from an influx of people from the urban area into the city. The measure to reverse this trend relies on the development of infrastructure. Firstly, an excess of immigrants from rural areas is the reason to blame for a crowded city. These people move to downtown in order to seek more job opportunities or better works. While it is true that a job seeker can find jobs in rural areas, these jobs are usually agriculture-related, which are with lower pay compared to those of high-tech or commercial industries in the city centre. For example, according to the latest research conducted by the Ministry of Labor in Taiwan, per capita monthly income in urban areas is around 43,332 NTD, whereas in rural regions this number decreases to two-thirds, roughly standing at 29,000 NTD. In light of this fact, therefore, individuals move in. In order to solve the problem aforementioned, the central government should allocate more funds to infrastructure in rural areas. Such a development can help the local government to establish commercial and industrial districts for the purpose of attracting entrepreneurs and investors to come to improve the condition of the job market locally. By doing so, local residents are more willing to stay instead of moving out, which can alleviate the problem of a congested city. In conclusion, an excess of migrants from rural areas, trying to find decent careers, cause the congestion of urban areas. In order to solve this problem, it requires the central government to distribute more budget expenditure to these low-income areas.