Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Many big countries across the globe are facing the negative impacts of overcrowding in cities. Increase in population leads to many problems. The authorities and people should take serious steps to resolve this issue. This essay will examine the consequences of overpopulation and discuss the possible solutions. Firstly, the major cause of overpopulation in towns is health problems. Ever since the industrial revolution many people are migrating to cities for job, as these areas have good medical facilities, good education and more job opportunities. Due to which the demand for accommodation increased. Many families in towns are living in the houses with poor ventilation and dampness which resulted in many health problems like bronchitis and other respiratory diseases. Moreover, more people means more vehicles on road with bumper to bumper traffic jams leading to air pollution. Another serious repercussion of overpopulation is rise in the crime rate. Living in metropolitan means high cost of living which many people are unable to afford and poor living conditions may lead young people to take desperate measures and turn them to crime and drugs. In terms of solutions, I believe that its a joint responsibility of government and individuals to resolve this problem.The legal authorities should build more industries in rural areas and suburbs which will create more job opportunities. It should also provide good education and medical facilities for the people living there. Government should also improve public transport and make more roads. Individuals can also contribute by using public transport or sharing the commute which will help in reducing the pollution. They could also form watch areas to help reduce the high levels of crime. To sum up, we all know that these problems are worrying and growing but if every one of us thinks about what they can do to make it better, I am sure that these issues can be solved.