Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

The growth in urban populations means more and more people tend to live in apartments, but there are many who still prefer to live in houses. I think when compared with apartments, there are more benefits than drawbacks to living in houses. Houses usually have yards where children can play and small gardens can be maintained. This makes them very suitable for larger families. In addition, people living in houses often enjoy better privacy and less noise because there are far fewer neighbours. Nevertheless, the costs of maintaining a house, from utility bills to air conditioning to security, almost always exceed those of living in an apartment. This is why even fans of living in houses tend to have second thoughts when deciding on where to live. Apartments, on the other hand, are usually safer as most apartment buildings have guards and CCTV security systems, besides the fact that the many neighbours keep an eye on each other’s residences. Nevertheless, most apartments have few or no south-facing windows, resulting in less light penetrating the interior and rendering their residents prone to depression and vitamin D deficiencies. It is also difficult to customise an apartment to the needs of a family since any structural changes can potentially affect the whole building. I personally value privacy and silence above all other factors when choosing accommodation. Therefore, I believe a house is a much better place to live, especially for families with children and the elderly who need more peace and quiet. I also believe most citizens nowadays, especially the middle class, earn enough to be able to afford the costs of life in houses.