As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

The evolution of computers has been accompanied by various conveniences and one of the most common usage areas is translation. Translation systems are easily accessible and work so efficiently that many people are of the opinion that allocating a large amount of time to learn a foreign language is an old-world activity now. While I accept that translation apps remove numerous obstacles in communication, I would argue that being proficient in at least one foreign language is essential for both career and social skills. Having a command of different languages is sought by the majority of employers in contemporary work life and using translation sites to interact with people confines people from many perspectives. Nowadays, every business attempts to be a part of the international market and carries out their job in foreign languages, yet it is not possible to maintain works by using translation. For example, numerous scientific articles are released in English and I believe that they should be read in their written language in order to comprehend perfectly. Because some phrases may be lost their main idea when they are translated into another language. From another point of my view, it is clear that learning a foreign language improves self-confidence and allows individuals to travel abroad without any concern. To illustrate, people cannot carry their computers or mobile phones continuously when they are overseas so knowing a common foreign language makes everything less challenging which may be coming out from lack of communication. On the other hand, I have to concede that translation services offer various benefits since it is so useful and effortlessly accessible. Translation services can be used through technological devices that people use constantly in their daily life such as mobile phones, computers and smartwatches. For instance, if a Japanese tourist asks a question about the location of historical places, people can guide them in Japanese without any misunderstanding via their mobile phones. Moreover, even little children can utilize these services since their usage is quite straightforward. However, I would like to point out that it may lead to laziness among people and they may start to fulfil their tasks by using such services. In conclusion, while some people argue that learning a foreign language is unnecessary due to highly advanced translation apps,yet I doubt this opinion. Although I accept that these services provide various advantages, I believe that learning a foreign language improves the communication skills of individuals and facilities for employees to stand out in their work lives.