Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The opinion is divided on whether wealthy people are most successful. Others believe that successful people give contributions to society as scientists and teachers. In this answer, I will look at the reasoning of both camps before arriving at a reasonable conclusion. Those people with a more materialistic view of personal success think of wealth as a means to raise the standard of living for themselves and their families. With this goal in mind, they consider that social contribution is inappropriate if one cannot provide for their family. This often happens to successful writers and artists who struggle at first. For example, some famous Vietnamese poets or writers often write about their financial struggles, whose wives have to work hard to make up for their low and unstable incomes. Taken seriously from this angle, proponents of this view argue that these men have failed in roles of family, regardless of their contribution to the field and to society. In contrast, those who are able to provide for their families by educating their children well, and taking care of their parents, despite contributing little, are more successful. Nevertheless, there are only a few cases. On the other hand, it is argued that people who contribute to the community are the most successful. To begin with, not all wealthy people gain their money legally because they may commit crimes to make profits like trading heroin and money laundering. Therefore, these cases cannot be considered as successful despite their richness. Besides, people like scientists and teachers, who contribute to society are believed to be the most successful in terms of their in-depth knowledge and high social status. To be more specific, being a scientist or a teacher is not easy, so people have to spend a long time and effort acquiring knowledge so that they can satisfy the requirements of those high-level jobs. Therefore, they will receive respect from other people and be recognized as the most successful in society. In conclusion, being rich can be considered to be successful, however, I think that people who contribute to society are the most successful ones.