Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic materials are widely used by manufacturing industries due to their relatively cheap production costs and this may have ecological impacts on the environment. This essay will discuss the environmental damages caused by the usage of plastic in our daily lives and solutions by which governments and individuals can preserve/save our fragile environment. As shown in much research, plastic waste obviously has negative effects on the natural environment because they usually take such a long time to decay. The easiest and economical way to dispose of unused plastics is, for example, by burning them, thereby releasing toxic gases into the atmosphere. In many major cities, the primary cause of blockage in drainage systems is plastic bags from households, causing flash floods,especially in rainy seasons. To address those environmental issues, states around the world should implement a number of policies. For instance, countries can impose higher taxes on exports and imports of plastic -based products. As a result, higher prices on these products will deter the public from reckless buying and it will impel them to make alternative products that are more environmental-friendly. Additionally, authorities should encourage industries to make use of non- plastic raw materials, such as paper or organic substitutes which are more biodegradable and would have less impact on the natural environment. Meanwhile, in order to save the nature from dangers of plastic waste, every household could reuse and recycle bottles and containers after the food is consumed. They should also make the habit of bringing reusable bags whenever they go to the market to buy goods and foodstuff. In conclusion, although plastic is very convenient, we should limit the over-consumption of those products in plastic packaging. Individuals and international governments should recognise its implications on the natural world.