There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessments?

Nowadays, whether schools or universities, it can be seen that they are using tests as an assessment for students ' knowledge more than continuous assessment. This method can benefit students in some ways, for example, students will know their weaknesses in each subject, however, this could also have some disadvantages for the students. To start with, not only can exams make the students know their abilities in every subject, but they can also help the students to know which subject they should improve. Since the students will get to know their scores, they will know which subject they are good or bad at, then they will know what to do in the next exams. For example, they will know that the subject they should read first is the one that they are not good at it so they will have time to learn and try to understand this subject more. On the contrary, the exams can cause students to have stress, they will always anxiously think that whether they will pass or fail the exams. Another disadvantage is that the time when the students have to prepare for the exams could make students ' mental health worsen. Both disadvantages are not tiny problems because they can make students have depression and when they cannot cope with these situations anymore, it will lead them to commit suicide. For instance, we could sometimes see in the news that there are students jumping off the balcony, due to stress about their studies for the upcoming exam. In conclusion, teachers are more likely to test their students ' knowledge by the exams which make the students understand more about their capabilities, in contrast, these can also make students stressed as they will always think that they must pass the exams.