Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Parents send their children to school to attain an education, however there are debates as to how best students can be encouraged to get good grades. Some teachers think that school-going children produce more pleasing results when they are appreciated. Traditional educationalists believe that punishment yields better results. This essay will discuss both opinions and also agree with the former. On the one hand, tutors and parents argue that smirking will force the child to work harder in order to avoid being beaten. The African culture, for, example has a common saying that " the ears of a child are on the buttock", in other words without flogging, it is believed that the young ones do not understand what they are told. This approach is widely used in many learning institutions with the belief that the fear created would push pupils to study hence achieving excellent scores. However, this leaves us wondering whether beating remains feasible as the scholars grow! On the other hand, psychologists emphasize reward as a means to promote positive outcomes even in academics. Satisfactory reports are commonly attributed to the expectation of a present. In schools, for instance, the best performing computer students are often gifted personal laptops, this encourages the rest of the class to strive towards excellence, Additionally their portraits are hung up in the hallways for recognition. This can motivate a pompous baller to be equally as good in his classroom work, therefore scoring high marks, moreover he also becomes more popular. To sum up, the debate on how best pleasing reports can be produced from learners is still unresolved. While acknowledging the contribution of punishment to overall performance, I strongly believe that learners are better motivated through appreciation.