In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Infrastructure investments have long been a hot topic in recent years. Whether to spend money to build new high-speed trains or to maintain old transport is under discussion especially when the government is not financially abundant. I will discuss both opinions in this essay and give my view. On one hand, new high-speed trains between cities can boost the economy. For instance, the reduction in travelling time makes cooperation and communication of technicians and specialists possible. These interactions can be the basis of successful business projects between two companies based in nearby cities. Simply speaking, fast transport can realize the potential of new chances in some cases. On the other hand, existing public transport is still worth improving. Namely, the undergrounds in Beijing were first built in the 1990s when the city was not developed like today. The government has been keeping investing in new lines to make the system meet the demands. The improvement contributes a lot to the city’s development by transporting millions of people every day. However, potential can be realized if there is some. The government should do some survey on how the city can be developed to decide whether to build fast trains or to improve the existing system. The cooperation between companies occurs when they are associated, and so do cities. These transport infrastructure investments should go to where it is needed. To sum up, the decision on building faster intercity trains or improving existing ones should be made based on the situation where the city is in.