Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are many entities that think that their representative should dress elegantly while others prefer value over appearance. In this essay, I am going to present both sides and then give my point of view. The main reason why the first group believe that dressing well is important is that it will enhance the images of that company, NGO, or even government. In addition, most of the entities these days spend gigantic amounts of money on public relations, marketing, and image. Also, when an employee dresses well for their job this might increase their love to work; this is because they have created a cue between dress and workplace. For instance, behaviourally speaking, many researchers have come to a conclusion that there is a link between habit and cues and when someone dresses well for their job their mind might link it with the job. As a result, this might link the feeling of dressing well with the job which triggers every employee to love the job. Another group prefer the quality over dress code this is because customers would like a good product or even a service. Thus, the most consumer does not care about what the representative dress because dressing well will not give them a discount or enhance their life. Moreover, focusing on providing superb services will have evolved the organisations over time. Therefore, it will expand and grow in a way that would generate a massive amount of profit which means that they will hire more employees in the long run. In conclusion, both of the arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that producing a good product or offering a good service is far much better than what an employee should be dressed in the workplace. This is because great products create a good future.