Many people think that libraries are essential for society. Others, however, disagree and say that it is more practical to access information on computers, while libraries are a waste of money and resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Through the ages public libraries stayed the place where anybody can gain the knowledge collected by the last generations of people. Nowadays, since computers have been invented, more and more individuals consider that book rooms are just a waste of money for society. But despite that, there are many people who think the opposite. In this essay I will try to discuss both points of view and say my own opinion. Firstly, in the modern, more and more people gain computers or other electronic devices (smartphones, tablets) which can carry out computer functions in the side of deriving information. More and more programs and applications that help people to read are developed by the modern coding industry. However, most applications are created for commercial purposes and require money for use. Nevertheless, we live in a time when information has never been so accessible to everyone. On the other hand, there are a lot of people who cannot afford to buy a smartphone or computer, who live in regions with poor internet access or absence of any access, particularly in developing countries. Exactly for such people the public libraries have to be in existence, performing the function not only as a source of new information but to be a window in the modern world and to discover new opportunities for personality development. In conclusion, although the libraries role in the life of average people is decreasing due to the wide distribution of computers, book rooms still have an important place in society. In my opinion, public libraries need to be preserved and transformed into other forms such as public spaces where everyone can meet friends and neighbours and discuss their community problems.