Rich countries often give financial aid to poor countries, but it does not solve the poverty, so rich countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than the financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that developed countries should financially help poor countries while others insist that financial aid is not effective at curbing poverty and therefore other forms of assistance are required. In my opinion, rich nations should provide other forms of aids besides economic help to those countries in need. First of all, providing financial help may seem like a solution as it will temporarily relieve a country of its economic problems. However, financial help alone will not work in the long term for several reasons. To start with, financial assistance does not always reach the poor and the needy. Some of the poorest countries have corrupt governments that misappropriate foreign aids to serve their own interests. Needless to say, the poor will remain poor even after receiving assistance from abroad. Thus, obviously, financial help has its limitations and often times, it is equally important or even better to provide practical assistance. For example, rich countries can help to construct schools and hospitals in poor countries. They can also invest in poor nations to create job opportunities there. When rich countries offer practical assistance to poor nations, they can produce better results. For example, investing in the educational infrastructure is one of the most effective ways for rich nations to offer assistance. Lack of education is often the root cause of poverty. Rich nations can also share their knowledge of improved agricultural practices with poor nations. This will help the latter increase their yield.