The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Criminal activity is becoming more and more common in the world. With the advent of technology, some people believe that the crime rate can be reduced. From my standpoint, I am in favour of the idea as it would not only prevent crimes but also solve them. To begin with, it could be thought that highly advanced automation has been used in every aspect of crime reduction and has helped in reducing violations. To illustrate more, before the use of sophisticated systems, criminals could change their identity easily and commit more crimes. Notorious activities have since declined as facial recognition has been introduced by Google. A recent study, for instance, revealed that in the past decades the chances of atrocities taking place, due to change of personal identities has fallen by 20%. Thus, innovation is preventing the violation from happening. Furthermore, advancement in automation also solves many cases from occurring in the first place. Firstly, sensors and security alarms played a crucial role in stopping crime on homes or banks. For example, heat sensors have been installed in modern houses for security purposes. Secondly, the online records of the criminals are shared on the online portal easily so that police can catch them frequently. (Eg- Interpol). Some algorithms are also developed for the security of governmental data from hackers too. To conclude, although from the past decades the rate of violation has decreased due to technological advancements, I believe that hackers will always find new ways to break through secure systems. So it is important that tight measures are in place and close monitoring is essential in order to minimize crimes of all sorts in this day and age.