Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people think that increasing the petrol cost could help to decrease the growing traffic and pollution problems. From my point of view, I do not agree with this view and this essay will give some other ways to deal with these troubles. On the one hand, rising the petrol cost could make people use their transports less and decline pollution problems for some reasons. First of all, most of the transports using petrol, so increasing the price will make people tend to travel less. For example, poor people might not afford the petrol cost day by day. Then, they may use public transportation instead which are friendly to the environment. Besides, they might go out less. On the other hand, there is a lot of different methods that can deal with the traffic and pollution issues. To begin with, the government should develop the public transport systems like buses, trains in order to decrease the number of individuals who use private vehicles. Because commuting by buses or trains is always cheaper than by cars or motorbikes. The next measure could be using electronic or solar energy instead of petrol. It is a great way to protect the environment. Thus the government could raise money for researching and producing electronic or solar cars and motorbikes. To sum up, increasing the petrol price may help to reduce the number of people using private transports, however, there are plenty of other ways namely developing public vehicles or using alternative sources like solar and electronic energy which can solve the problems.