One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Due to the medical science advancements made in the past years, many diseases are treated easier and as a result, people's lifespan has increased compared to before. Since animals are mainly used for the process of testing those medications, people have alleged that these developments are a direct violation of animals ' rights. Personally, I believe that the benefits are far more important. To commence with, it is obvious that examinations on animals have been a part of our history of biology. For many years, researchers have examined different species to find similarities between them and humans in order to develop vaccines and other medications. For example, many scorpion farms exist in order to exploit their poison for the purpose of making antidotes. The suffering of animals in those farms and labs has brought the attention of many activists towards them. Therefore, people began to question the authenticity of those facilities. On the other hand, it is rather intuitive that every one of us wants to live longer. Fortunately, advancements in biology have led to the development of many life-saving drugs. For instance, compared to two or three generations before, people are less likely to be diagnosed with cancer. These products have directly improved our immune system and thus, we are able to treat harder diseases and recover from them. To conclude, sadly many animals are used in the process of making better medications. However, the outcome which is the increase in life expectancy is certainly a pleasant one. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the disadvantages.