Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released.

One of the popular opinions prevailing ubiquitously in the current society is that educating people in prison could reduce the crimes committed. In this essay, I will discuss the merits of the notion and present my opinion. Firstly, it is true to a great extent that the citizens who commit crimes are under-educated. Because of this lack of education, people find it difficult to estimate the legal and moral consequences of their actions which oftentimes is a danger to fellow innocent people. Therefore, giving proper education to a person in prison that lead to career opportunities after being released allows them to live a comfortable life without having to resort to unlawful actions. For example, according to a recent article published in the local newspaper; an ex-convict started a small business with the help of the knowledge he possessed during his prison time. Hence, education can definitely turn convicted criminals into model citizens. While education can be a contributing factor to turning any individual into a responsible person that lives within the confines of the law, it is not the only way. In addition to educating prisoners, finding the root cause of the problem by conducting research on the aspects like reasons as to why many commit crimes which is a wide spectrum of issues. This gives society an opportunity to eliminate the problem before it even happens. In conclusion, however, I believe that educating convicted people in a correctional facility does outweigh other ways to reduce crimes being committed. Therefore, I agree with the aforementioned idea.