Water pollution has become one of the most pressing environmental issues in many parts of the world. Why is water pollution a growing concern for both individuals and governments? What measures can be taken to reduce the problem effectively?

In most countries, water plays a crucial role in human life, and it is a precious resource. However, water contamination has become one of the most urgent environmental problems. Both individuals and governments should be concerned about water pollution and tackle it. There are many measures which can be taken to diminish water pollution. Firstly, water has been severely contaminated by industrial effluent, domestic wastewater and agricultural pollution recently, including groundwater,rivers, lakes and oceans. It causes not only a decrease in the amount of sea and river creatures but also disrupts the food chain in both the ocean and the rivers. For example, in South Africa, a pressing problem is that the number of penguins has declined. Penguins don’t have sufficient food to eat because the ocean is polluted in South Africa. The sardines, which are the main food for penguins, have decreased for many years. Secondly, people grow grain crops with polluted water. They may be exposed to pollution and toxic chemicals. As a result, it leads to health problems for people. However, some solutions can be taken to tackle this problem. On the one hand, the governments can establish a law to restrict companies from discharging effluent and regulate them to treat effluent. Moreover, the governments can build the wastewater treatment factories. For example, in Taiwan, the authorities built the water treatment systems to deal with a variety of water pollution issues in order to provide clean water for the residents. The government also enacted a specific law to regulate companies. On the other hand, individuals can engage in beach and river clean-up activities. In addition, they can contribute to charities which are related to preserving the water resources. People have an obligation to protect the environment. In conclusion, water pollution may lead to many problems and become a worldwide issue. However, there are many measures that can be taken by both governments and individuals.