In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

In this technology-driven era, autonomous vehicles are expected to become a proper solution for transportation. If this is the case, drivers will be replaced completely by Artificial Intelligence (AI). Despite many promised benefits, I am not convinced that all the vehicles that participated in transportation should be driverless. On the one hand, it is clear that driverless cars can free up human labour in such a monotonous and stressful task like driving, especially in rush hours. Alternatively, people can use the saved time for other purposes, such as working, resting or entertaining. It is also proven that the demand for such cars is significantly high, for instance, Tesla with its driverless cars have been always sought after by many customers all over the world since the first day of its launch. On the other hand, I believe that machines, even with AI will never alter humans entirely. In fact, the idea of an auto-vehicle has been applied in aviation for a long time. Most of the flights nowadays are pre-programmed. However, there must be the presence of a captain with the assistance of his or her first mate in the cabin during the flight to ensure the success of the flight and the safety of all passengers. Aside from its superiority, AI is set up based on the given data. Hence, if a misleading or unexpected event occurs that is out of the prior given scope, things will become a disaster without human support. In conclusion, the autonomous vehicle is a breakthrough achievement in transportation, however, the advantages cannot outweigh the disadvantages due to the risk of uncertainty and the lack of accuracy in forecasting and calculation.