It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? To what extend do you agree or disagreewith this opinion?

It is debated by many that juveniles should be educated by punishing them as it is required to support their learning. I agree with this point to some extent and I will explain further in this essay the reasons. On one hand, punishment is a vigorous method for children who do not wish to listen to their parents, teachers or the elderly in general. Many parents think limiting their screen timings, giving kids detention not to go out or teachers giving unnecessary loads of homework to get their attention. Some kids forfeit their stubbornness and listen to their parents while others think this is unfair so they continue doing more. For instance, one study shows, that kids who were punished hold more grudges toward their elderly. On the other hand, if the kids do not listen to their parents or teachers, another method could be to show them their mistakes by letting them experience the mistake or simply by persuading them towards the right way. Some kids could be more rebellious than others and to prevent their future mistakes parents and teachers could use simple but effective punishments. To give an example, if a kid throws garbage on the floor he could be first warned and if he still insists on doing it he could be punished by letting him research about the environment and giving him cleaning detention for a week. To conclude, many methods could be debatable on how to teach a kid good manners but in my opinion, kids should not be completely limited or have extreme detentions. They should be allowed to make mistakes in order to learn from their misconception.