Nowadays, people in some countries can choose to live and work anywhere they want because of the improvement in transportation and communication technologies. Discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of this

Today, in this technology-driven world, modes of communication and transportation have become highly convenient for society. As a result, on the one hand, people have obtained better opportunities to work and live in different regions, but, on the other hand, it has caused various issues such as local residents are missing out on the same opportunities. The main advantage of having an option to live and work from various places is the overall growth of an individual. Not everyone lives in bigger cities having good universities to study and industries to work and with the technological growth, people have started exploring various career options. For instance, with the internet and cellphones people can apply for jobs while sitting at home today; give interviews and on getting selected, they can easily migrate using various transportation modes like cars, buses, trains and aeroplanes. Additionally, it has helped in the growth of different countries as the migrants contribute to the development of the area by working hard. Hence, it has not just given people a dream but has also given a path to live those dreams. Conversely, it has a few disadvantages as well and the main one would be the competition for the local residents of the area where job-seekers move in a large number. For example, due to this movement, industries get to hire employees on lower wages as people who have newly moved will not mind working for lower pays to kick-start their careers, leaving local people with no other choice but to migrate to other cities. Another drawback could be cultural issues. With the technological enhancements, people have come closer and they have started following different cultures, completely forgetting their roots. Moreover, this is the major contributor to various environmental problems such as air pollution, noise pollution and many more. To summarize, there are merits and demerits of this situation as mentioned above, however, I believe the advantages here have outweighed the disadvantages. The movement to different cities for work is not just beneficial for an individual but for society as well.