Tourism is an ever growing industry. What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

With the development in the aviation industry in concert with the low oil prices, travelling abroad or having a continental peregrination becomes popular. In light of such prosperity in tourism, in my opinion, individuals can benefit from having different experiences through cultural exchange, while the living standard of the locals can be improved due to higher income brought by tourists. First of all, people can benefit by trying something new in foreign countries. This is because different countries have different cultures, and tourists from overseas will have a great chance to experience the exotic traditions and the local cuisine. For example, westerners, if they are brave enough, can taste the authentic stinky tofu if they visit Taiwan, which will indubitably be an unforgettable memory in their life; vice versa, Taiwanese people who travel to the western countries will be able to immerse themselves into a multicultural society and to enjoy local activities such as tomato fight in Spain or drinking beer in Germany. Furthermore, it has been widely acknowledged that the living standard of the local society can also be improved by tourism. In addition to this, economists further claim that people who want a leisure trip to escape from a tedious life may spend more money when they are in a foreign country than in their hometowns. Due to these two facts, it is not difficult to make an assumption that a horde of generous travellers can bring a tremendous amount of fortune to the local vendors, and as a result improving the living standard of the local residents. In conclusion, from my point of view, tourism not only allows individuals to have an opportunity to experience a different lifestyle but also makes the living standard of the people in tourist spots better.