Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which do you think is a better educational system?

There has been an argumentative statement heating a debate over the learners who are at the age of 15’s curriculum. While some people argue that it is better for them to attend certain classes, others hold a strong view that it is necessary for them to learn various subjects before leaving school. This essay is devoted to the benefits of both systems and I personally agree with the latter opinion for the following reasons. Without a shadow of a doubt, focusing on certain subjects can bring students a wealth of tremendous benefits. To further illustrate, those who learn fewer subjects would have more extra time to spend on what they really want to do. For instance, they will have time for leisure activities such as playing football, or doing further research related to their chosen subject. While the former would help them relieve the pressure at school and recharge their energy, the latter is a perfect way for reviewing the lessons taught in class. Eventually, these activities will increase their study efficiency and academic performance. While those redeeming features of majoring in certain subjects are widely acknowledged, it’s unfair if those of studying a wide range of subjects are ignored. Specifically, if students can get access to more classes, they would be taught many lessons related to various fields, which can be of great help when they become mature. For instance, in Vietnam, students aiming at business are only required to have good grades in Math. However, if they choose to attend other non-major classes such as English or Computer Skills, they would offer them a competitive edge when applying for jobs in multinational companies compared to those who are not familiar with foreign languages or computers. Hence, such an educational system is much better than letting learners study a few subjects. In conclusion, although focusing on fewer subjects will offer students more quality time, I still believe that attending various classes would be more beneficial in the future as it provides them with more useful insights and a set of skills.