Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that governments must carry out prevention of dying out languages in small regions, while others hold opposite opinions. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument, and prove why a opt for the former side as my view. On the one hand, for those who strongly believe that saving endangered languages are unnecessary and costly, they must be thinking based on the following two reasons: Firstly, this group of people might think it is unrealistic to speak an unpopular language recently. Owing to the fact that international language such as English gradually becomes the main trend due to the rise of globalisation. Therefore, it is convenient for people to speak a popular language in daily life. Another reason for this group believing the view that most the extinct languages are extremely complicated and not worthy to be preserved. For instance, La Gomera relies on vowels rather than consonants, it is difficult and time-consuming to use the whistle to communicate due to different frequencies. Consequently, it is needless to conserve these languages to some extent. On the other hand, another crowd of people, as well as I, are thinking more important to dying languages, and they believe that governments must preserve via financial resources. Undoubtedly, saving the oldest languages is essential for cultural heritage. It is unique and has many values – historical, linguistic, anthropological and aesthetic. For instance, island authorities set Silbo Gomero as a school curriculum in order to avoid the loss of languages, and the First International Congress of Whistled Languages start to preserve at the same time because from a historical aspect, the Silbo Gomero language was the mobile phone in the early period. Hence, the saving of this language can largely help us have a better understanding culture of ancient people. Alternatively, by learning these endangered languages, scholars can study the history of ancient people to have the breakthroughs of academic research. Specifically, t researchers find the mechanism of the construction of pyramids through the old Egyptian language. In conclusion, although extinct languages are not useful for our material life, I still firmly believe that studying them can maintain the wisdom of ancestors and improve the innovations historically.