A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Unpaid internship is an essential element for the completion of some tertiary courses nowadays. This essay will highlight the benefits and drawbacks of students working as interns at companies or organisation for free. Focusing on the positives, one significant advantage is that those with internship experiences are likely to be more engaged learners and better comprehend the knowledge and skills taught in class. This is because that they generally have gained the opportunity to apply theories into practice and actively transfer their understanding to solving real-world issues, which, in turn, could engage them with hands-on and authentic learning experiences. More importantly, undertaking intern jobs could boost the students ’ career prospect as they improve their employability by having clearer perceptions of the expectations and prospects of a career, gaining employment-related skills and building connections with professionals working in the field. This is exemplified by the fact that many students usually secure a job in the company in which they have worked as interns because of their good impression on the company and the recommendation from their mentors. Their internship experiences tend to also stand them out from other job applicants since employers usually favour experienced employees. Nevertheless, this unpaid internship also presents drawbacks. Many tertiary students often have to work part-time to cover their expenses and working in companies or organisations for a period of time without income imposes huge financial burdens on them and their families. To make matters worse, those students who have undertaken unpaid internship might end up giving up their learning entirely. Considering the fact that interns are usually treated as useless novices and sent off to do some trivial tasks such as preparing coffee or data logging, these students might be warned off either by the actual arduous working routines or the unsupportive and competitive working environment. In conclusion, despite the possible financial pressure and discouraging experiences, incorporating unpaid internship into curriculum, I believe, is beneficial for the better learning outcomes and improved student employability.