Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that children raised by parents who are not as rich are more adaptable to difficulties in their adulthood than those growing up in wealthy households. Generally, despite the many advantages stemming from being financially superior, I tend to agree with this view. It is true that individuals reared in financially advantaged families are generally more well-resourced and open-minded than those brought up by parents who generally could not provide the comparable social and financial resources for the development of such traits. Their visions and connections brought by their wealthy families are likely to give them a jump start in their adult lives and assist them in resolving problems they encounter. In contrast, those from families with financial constraints often find it hard to escape adversities due to the lack of such boosts and support. Moreover, when wealthy children acquire sophisticated and well-rounded ways of being and doing alongside their parents or in prestigious schools, the perspectives of individuals from deprived households tend to be constrained as they are preoccupied with meeting their basic needs. As a result, it is likely that adults of wealthy parents are better at resolving problems and challenges as they could form more comprehensive and bigger pictures of the situations. Nevertheless, the key to problem-solving skills, in my opinion, is being creative and resilient, which is usually the common characteristic of people growing up in adversity. In spite of the possible lacking resources and visions, children raised by parents with limited financial ability are likely to experience difficulties early on and therefore become more independent and resilient. Such experience also sharpens children ’s problem-solving skills as they have to be creative and deal with matters that frequently occur among disadvantaged people. With independence and resilience, an individual is likely to be proactive and persist when confronted with problems and resolve those problems on the fly with their sophisticated problem-solving skills, while their richer peers might fail to do so as they are pampered with everything sorted out for them. In conclusion, although I agree that children of wealthy families have advantages in their future development with external social and financial support that is usually unavailable to the offspring of the poor, I would argue that those from deprived families are likely to be better at solving problems with their intrinsic personal traits and problem-solving experiences gained in their upbringing.