As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's world, societies resemble each other in terms of celebrations, clothing, and languages because of the introduction of mass media and the improvement in the means of transportation across the world. Some people see this change as a big threat which will completely vanish the local cultures. I firmly believe that the whole world will become a global village eventually and cultural identity will no longer exist in the future. The introduction of the Internet has made it convenient for people to follow the trends of Western nations. They can imitate the fashion style of their favourite lifestyle bloggers on Instagram or Facebook. For example, even big Bollywood celebrities replicate the outfits worn by Hollywood actors in big fashion events. As an increasing number of people are getting influenced by global trends, they are avoiding their native traditional attires and lifestyle. if this tendency continues to grow, it will completely replace the local traditions. Additionally, as the means of transportation have evolved, young people have started moving to western countries to seek higher education or better employment opportunities. For instance, around 80,000 youngsters from India are moving to developed countries every year. Most of them decide to settle in those nations permanently. This trend takes them away from their native traditions, language and culture as they get influenced by the lifestyle and culture of the people around them. To conclude, the evolution of communication and transportation facilities have adversely affected the local cultures. In my opinion, if the governments of the affected countries have not taken serious steps to preserve their traditions and heritage, globalization will completely demolish the local cultures in the future.