A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Vocational placement is an essential element for the completion of some tertiary courses nowadays and this is accompanied by both benefits and drawbacks which I will elaborate on in this essay. Focusing on the positives, one significant advantage is that those with placement experiences are likely to be more engaged in learning and better comprehend the knowledge and skills taught in class. This is because that they generally have gained the opportunity to apply theories into practice and actively transfer their understanding to solving real-world issues, which, in turn, could engage them with hands-on and authentic learning experiences. More importantly, working in companies or organisations for a period of time could boost university enlistments’ careers as they gain clearer perceptions of the expectations and prospects of a career, acquire employment-related skills, and build connections with professionals working in the field through such experience. This is exemplified by the fact that many graduates usually secure a job in the company they have been placed in due to their good performance and the recommendation from their mentors. They are also more likely to stand out from other job applicants with placement experience since employers usually favour experienced employees. Nevertheless, placing students in employment occasions as part of the course plan also presents drawbacks. Many tertiary students often have to work part-time to cover their expenses and working in companies or organisations for a period of time without income imposes huge financial burdens on them and their families. To make matters worse, those individuals who have undertaken unpaid internships might end up giving up their learning entirely. Considering the fact that interns are usually treated as useless novices and sent off to do some trivial tasks such as preparing coffee or data logging, these students might be demotivated by either the actual arduous working routines or the unsupportive and competitive working environment, ending up altering their career path entirely. In conclusion, despite the possible financial pressure and discouraging experiences, incorporating unpaid internships into the curriculum, I believe, is beneficial for better learning outcomes and improved student employability.