With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important yo protect animals? what measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

The cutting down of forests, urbanisation and poaching are endangering and threatening the disappearance of animals from the face of the earth. This essay advances that it is crucial to protect fauna and measures such as creating places for harbouring the vulnerable species and laws to regulate activities such as hunting and tree-cutting will go a long way in ameliorating the conundrum. These will be discussed at length below. To begin with, I argue vociferously that it is important to safeguard endangered species as they have rights just like human beings. Doing so ensures that animals can survive for generations but also that humans can benefit from their beautiful scenery, meat and other benefits in a controlled and orderly manner. For example, had pangolins been protected in the 70s and 80s, Zimbabwe would continue to attract foreign visitors and generate massive incomes. To eradicate the problem, specific well-policed habitats can be built in several areas of, say, a country, to give special care to animals and prevent them from being decimated. Secondly, formulation of legal instruments may be necessary to prohibit and regulate certain practices such as game shooting and the clearing of land for agriculture. For instance, in Zimbabwe still, the Ministry of Environmental Management, in collaboration with several non-state sectors successfully devised a policy called CAMPFIRE to address a disreputable trend of elephant disappearance in the country's southern regions which saw several thousands of criminals brought to book. In summary, non-human species have rights equivalent to human ones and hence deserve equal protection from perpetrators. Guarding them can take the form of constructed safehouses or simply government regulation.