Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first sentence. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem ?

Some violaters repeat offences after they are released from jails.The main reason for this is lack of employment opportunities as well as falling into the bad company during their detention period. This can be tackled by teaching technical skills to them and keeping them segregated from repeat convicts. One important reason for a person to commit a crime again is the lack of a job after coming out of confinement. This leads to serious financial stress and there is always a feeling of alienation from the society,who do not wish to employ criminals. For example,companies have a strict policy against hiring people with criminal backgrounds because of which they are left with no choice but to commit crimes again to meet expenses. Additionally,new inmates form friendships with local gangs who will be in the same cell as them.These gangs often encourage the new culprit to join them after they are released from jail.For these reasons,often many repeat crimes after serving their first sentence. This can be solved by taking a few measures which not will help offenders but will also benefit society as a whole. Firstly,the time spent by a criminal inside the jail should be used constructively in learning technical skills, this increases employment opportunities for them. For instance,Kiran Bedi,a well-known jailor introduced many skill training sessions for inmates, as a result of many of them learned computers and got employed in small scale industries. Secondly,there should be separate cell and eating arrangements for first -time offenders minimizing the contact with other violators. For instance, the juvenile blocks should be totally separated from the main area to avoid contact with hardcore culprits.These solutions will help the early time violaters realise the gravity of their mistakes and stop them from repeating the same mistake in future. To conclude, first time criminals get tempted to repeat the offence only when they face situations like unemployment and under the influence of old-timers.The steps taken to teach them skills needed for employment as well as segregating them will definitely help them overcome the temptation to repeat the crime again.