More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over people publicizing their private information on social platforms for numerous purposes. From my own perspective, I would strongly contend that this trend may act as a disturbance on internet users more than the benefits it may bring, especially on their real-life outside the screens. It is irrefutable to note that people have a tendency to put their information on social accounts for many reasonable underlying roots. In fact, we are all living in a technology-based society, thus most of our daily activities will be processed by the internet network. On Facebook, online shopping has become a massive trend among every walks of life nowadays for its convenience. Specifically, buyers are putting personal information in the comment section, and sellers could easily deliver the package within a few days. As a result, it not only expedited the buying process but also boosted customer satisfaction. While the redeeming features of the aforementioned notion are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if the downsides are being overlooked. Due to the fact that the data on social networks are exposed to everyone, it may facilitate online criminals. As a consequence, they could make use of people’s figures such as home address, phone number or bank account numbers by selling them to anonymous online platforms. Hence, victims may receive disturbing messages, blackmail or even lose money from their bank account to a sophisticated online hacking scheme. For those reasons, people may be facing a wide range of troubles when it comes to publicizing private data on social platforms. In conclusion, I am well convinced that despite some minor conveniences, registering detailed descriptions online could lead to tremendous negative impacts on users' daily life.