Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, there is a significant difference between men and women ’s sports coverage on television. I believe that women ’s sport should get just as much coverage as men ’s, and will outline my reasons in the following essay. There are many reasons for the dominance of men sports programs on television. First, due to the large portion of sports men viewers, television networks tend to broadcast men's sports programs to maximize their ratings and profits. Take football as an example. A group of young men discussing a recent men's football match is common inside a coffee shop, whereas women prefer to talk about other topics like shopping or showbiz gossip. Furthermore, because men on television are typically physically stronger and faster than women, they tend to play at a higher level, making men's sports more exciting to watch. However, I believe that television channels should provide equal sports coverage for both genders. First, it promotes gender equality in society and increases women's participation in sports. Every time women go out onto the field, they give it their all knowing that their best will likely go unnoticed, and therefore just like men, female athletes should receive full recognition for their effort. Second, increased media coverage allows women to earn money from endorsements, thereby increasing their income. Resultly, it helps reduce the wealth disparity between female and male athletes and motivates more women to pursue their passion in physical activity without economic concerns. Briefly, why women ’s sports shows do not receive enough coverage in this day and age results from the aforementioned reasons, and I believe women's and men's sports should be given equal time on television.